Boater EducationHome |Titles | Registration | License Placement | Renewals | Required Equipment
Flotation Devices | Lighting | Navigation | Accidents | Rules and Regs |
Nebraska law requires any motorboat operator (including personal watercraft) born after December 31, 1985, complete a Boating Safety Course and be in possession of a course certificate when operating the boat. You must be at least 14 years of age to operate a motorboat (including personal watercraft) in Nebraska. Classes are offered throughout the state in two options ( A or B ).
OPTION A: Register for available classes here
This is a 6-hour classroom class. Contact the contact person listed at the contact phone number to register for a class. Visit the course listings page and look for courses designated as OPTION A.
Download STUDY MATERIALS for Boating Safety ExamOPTION B - Home Study Option Download study materials for "Option B" Homestudy with Proctored Exam Boating Safety courses.
This is a 3-hour home study review/test-out session ONLY. To register for a particular class contact the instructor directly via phone or email (provided in the course listing). A listing of the test-out locations for this option are provided under Option B.
A current list of course offerings, instructors and locations can be found on the course listings page designated as OPTION B.
All students who pass the course (an exam is given) will be issued a Certificate of Completion. A number of insurance companies offer discounts on boat insurance for those who successfully complete this course.
You must have a 75 percent to pass the exam. Successful completion of boating safety courses certified or recognizedby other states will be accepted for non-resident motorboat operators. Responsibility lies with the operator.
Successful completion of a NASBLA approved boating safety courses certified or recognized by other states will be accepted for non-resident motorboat operators. Responsibility lies with the operator.
Boating is one of America's fastest growing recreational activities. More than 50 million people each year go boating for fun and relaxation using more than 10 million boats.
Nebraska alone has in excess of 84,000 power boats. This does not include nearly an equal number of vessels that do not require registration such as canoes, row boats, sail boats and inflatables.
Unfortunately, boating accidents continue to take their toll, with carelessness and inattention the leading causes. Many injuries and
thousands of dollars of equipment damages as well as several lives could
be saved each year if all boaters followed the rules and adhered to good
Contact Herb Angell at (402) 471-5579 or e-mail: email@example.com